☰ Menu

2015 Australia Day Award Winners announced

23 December 2014

Mayor Peter Gandolfi today announced the recipients of the 2015 Wattle Range Australia Day Awards.

Mayor Peter Gandolfi today announced the recipients of the 2015 Wattle Range Australia Day Awards.

Mr Gandolfi said the awards acknowledge the contribution and service provided to the community by individuals and groups.

Recipients of the 2015 Australia Day Citizen of the Year Awards are Des Farmer of Millicent, Trevor Rayson of Hatherleigh, Margaret Mountford of Penola.

Council’s chosen Kalangadoo recipient has declined to accept the award and modestly said; “others are more deserving”. 

Lewis March of Penola will receive the Australia Day Young Citizen of the Year Award for his outstanding leadership skills and endeavours in youth activities. 

Australia Day Community Event of the Year Awards will be awarded to the Millicent Cancer Support Group’s Girls Night In 2014, the 2014 Coast to Coast Fisherman’s Ball and the 150th Penola Show events.

Mr Gandolfi said the recipients are to be congratulated for their awards.

“We have many community-minded people in our midst and each year these awards recognise individuals and groups for the contribution they have made,” Mr Gandolfi said.   

The Awards will be officially presented at 9.00am at Australia Day breakfast functions which commence at 8.00am on Monday, January 26, 2015 at the following venues:

MILLICENT Jubilee Park, North Terrace, Millicent.
PENOLA War Memorial Park, Church Street, Penola.
BEACHPORT Lagoon Reserve, Sommerville Street, Beachport.
KALANGADOO                Kalangadoo Institute, Eliza Street, Kalangadoo.

As part of the yearly rotation Mayor Gandolfi will be attending the Corcoran Ward presentations at Millicent, accompanied by Cr. Sharon Cox, whilst the other awards will be presented by Deputy Mayor Rob Dycer and Cr. Dale Price at Kalangadoo, Crs. Kevin McGrath and Peter Dunnicliff at Beachport, and Crs. Rob Thornett and Dean Burrow at Penola.

“I urge everyone in the Wattle Range Council region to join the Australia Day celebrations on January 26, 2015”.


My Local Services

Page Last Modified: 2019-02-13T13:04:56