☰ Menu

Mayor announces 2018 Australia Day Award recipients

18 December 2017

Mayor Peter Gandolfi today announced the recipients of the 2018 Wattle Range Council Australia Day Awards.

Mr Gandolfi said the awards acknowledge the contribution and service provided to the community by individuals and groups.

Recipients of the Australia Day Citizen of the Year Awards are Heather Lowndes of Millicent (Corcoran Ward), Michael Coonan of Beachport (Kintore Ward), Sydney (Snow) Merrett of Penola (Riddoch Ward) and Trevor Schultz of Mount Burr (Sorby Adams Ward).

Ella Kain and Aliza Pfitzner of Penola will both receive an Australia Day Young Citizen of the Year Award, as joint winners for the Riddoch Ward.

The Australia Day Community Event of the Year Award will be presented to the Millicent Sand Buggy Club for the 2017 Teagle Excavations ARB Pines Enduro (Corcoran Ward).

Mr Gandolfi said the recipients are to be congratulated for their awards.

“As always, I am impressed with the calibre of this year’s nominations,” he said. “Each of the 2018 award winners has made a valuable contribution to the Wattle Range community and are worthy of such recognition”  

The Awards will be officially presented at 9 am at Australia Day breakfast functions which commence at 8 am on Friday, January 26, 2018 at the following venues:

MILLICENT                -         Jubilee Park, North Terrace, Millicent

PENOLA                     -         War Memorial Park, Church Street, Penola

BEACHPORT             -         Lagoon Reserve, Sommerville Street, Beachport

KALANGADOO        -         Kalangadoo Institute, Eliza Street, Kalangadoo

As part of the yearly rotation, Mayor Peter Gandolfi will be attending the Riddoch Ward presentations at Penola, accompanied by Crs. Dean Burrow and Rob Thornett, whilst the other awards will be presented by Deputy Mayor Rob Dycer at Kalangadoo, Cr. Kevin McGrath at Beachport, and Crs. John Drew and Glenn Brown at Millicent.

“I urge everyone in the Wattle Range Council region to come along and join in with the Australia Day celebrations on January 26, 2018,” Mr Gandolfi said.




For further information please contact:

Peter Gandolfi, Mayor
Email:                       pjg@wattlerange.sa.gov.au
Telephone:               (08) 8733 0900 or 0419 155 447



My Local Services

Page Last Modified: 2019-02-13T13:04:56