☰ Menu

Nominations open for 2019 Youth Awards

19 March 2019

Wattle Range Council is pleased to announce the opening of the 2019 Youth Recognition Awards. Recognising outstanding young people up to the age of 25 years.

Run in conjunction with Council’s 2019 SA Youth Week program, the awards will be presented for a fourth consecutive year thanks to the generous support of local business, the SA Government and Wattle Range communities.

Nominations are invited in five separate award categories, two of which have been revised in 2019. The new categories ‘Inspiration by Innovation’ and ‘Achievement through the Arts and Culture’ have been reimagined and added to the existing categories ‘Contributions to the Community’, ‘Overcoming Challenging Life Situation’ and ‘Learning Success’. To be eligible for the awards, nominated individuals need to be under 25 years old, and a resident of the Wattle Range Council area.

Wattle Range Mayor, Des Noll encourages community participation in honouring deserving youth: “Across Wattle Range we have many young individuals doing amazing things for themselves and others. We want to know who they are, so we can recognise their efforts as part of our annual Youth Week happenings.

“Research shows that if youth feel valued and appreciated, they are more likely to stay connected to their local community. Even if they travel or study away from the region, they will be more likely to return and continue as valuable contributors to our community,” Mayor Noll said.

The recipients of the 2019 Wattle Range Council Youth Recognition Awards will be announced at a celebration to be held in Beachport on the evening of April 11. Each nominee will be presented with a certificate and the category winners will also receive an engraved glass plaque along with a $200 cash prize.

Council also acknowledges the ongoing support of long-term awards sponsors the Medical Clinic of Millicent and Glen Carron Transport.

Information about the award categories and nomination process, including nomination forms, is available at any of Council’s offices or online at www.wattlerange.sa.gov.au/youthawards.

Nominations will be accepted until 9am on Monday, 1 April 2019.



For further information please contact:

Mayor Des Noll
Email:                       council@wattlerange.sa.gov.au
Telephone:               (08) 8733 0900 or 0428 515 967


My Local Services

Page Last Modified: 2019-02-13T13:04:56